“A Court of Thorns and Roses” Book Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Sarah J. Maas

I will admit, I had a rush of feelings before starting this book. I picked it up at Target after lots of beckoning from friends, but it sat on the floor in front of my bookshelf – not even removed from the bag – for at least a week before I finally decided to read it. When I purchased “A Court of Thorns and Roses” I also purchased another of Sarah J. Maas’ books: “Throne of Glass.” Disappointed reviews and mediocre ratings discouraged me from reading the book, so I avoided any reviews for ACOTAR. After reading the beautiful and original world Maas created and filled with just as wonderful characters, I think I may try picking up “Throne of Glass” again because she really outdid herself.

“A Court of Thorns and Roses” follows the story of Feyre – a peasant girl ripped away from her family after she kills a faerie and is given an option: die as punishment, or leave home and live in the world of fae for the rest of her days. Choosing to live, Feyre follows her captor, Tamlin, to his mansion where she will live out her days. Despite the dangers that lurk outside of his walls – Feyre is determined to find a way home, and in the process discovers more about he captor and his life than she ever could have hoped leading to a riveting story of adventure, love and finding one’s own strength in the most difficult of situations.

In recent months, I’ve grown more fascinated with books that worldbuild. It started with Laini Taylor’s “Strange the Dreamer” and has escalated to books like “Eragon” and now “A Court of Thorns and Roses.” I love learning about new creatures and creating the look of these new creatures based on the author’s description. Maas put just enough detail about the look of all her characters and all the new creatures introduced that they were easy enough to picture with enough leeway that my imagination had some room to add details. Even the world Maas built has just enough description to let me envision a basic outline of the new lands being explored by our protagonist without taking away from the fun of adding my own details and personal touches.

I must add extra praise for the compelling plot Maas centered her story around. The characters alone were intriguing enough that I probably would have been content just following their day-to-day lives, but adding a war backstory and an evil ruler with plans to… well… no spoilers. Anyway, Maas shined when it came to sprinkling just enough detail at each turn of the page to make sure I kept reading.

In all, I found the book fun and perfect for any fantasy lover. It was thrilling, magical and at times romantic – but you won’t see me complaining about that any time soon. I can’t wait to pick up the next book and continue the story.

Leave a Reply

